top of page
  • Writer's pictureraymiemusser

Changing My Macros

I have probably had the same Macros since I started keto. I really didn't follow them either when I first started Keto. I dropped from 180 to 119 in less then a year and why, because I was eating a severe caloric deficit. I wasn't eating enough. When I started to get lazy my weight bounced up to around 140. I then decided to add working out to see if that would help get the extra weight off. It didn't, after no weight change. I decided to change up my macros since I do feel better when my carbs aren't set up 20g.

I first kept everything the same with my calories, fats and proteins. I only changed my net carbs to 50g. After a couple weeks I made the big plunge and changed all my macros and upped my carbs one more time.

I went onto Macro Calculator: Count Your Macros Like a Pro! (bodybuilding.com) and had my Macros calculated on that. My new Macros are 2,300 calories | 140 net carbs | 80g fat | 160g protein. I think this was the best decision I could have made. I have been able to add back in sweet potatoes, fruit and other high carb food. I think my body thanked me too. I have more energy during the day and my workouts.

Slowly Adjusting macros helped with no weight gain. I stayed at 135 the whole process. The addition of more carbs in my macros does give me a lot more freedom. Example: I was able to enjoy some Panda Express with my family without feeling like was going to be bloated or gain weight the next day. I'll attached the macros of what I had.

I feel like and I know a lot of people won't agree with me but I feel like 20g of net carbs is great for weight loss but once you've decided to go into maintenance mode you need to up your carbs into a more sustainable level. Getting a more maintainable macro keeps you from binge eating and also gives you a better relationship with food. We never want to demonize food. Doing something like that may cause a Eating Disorder.

Don't be afraid to change things up or mess up with macros. Remember my Macros will not work for you. Everyone is different.


25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page